Manny Strange

[This is a reaction to the GQ article by Andrew Corsello: “Biggest Little Man in the World“]

I loved how this article was done. Spanning seven pages of Manny “the Pacman” Pacquiao’s life, people and “strangeness”, and maybe even his sainthood, reading it made me feel like I really was there, and that I really understood.

The first thing that struck me was the language. It was so… so real. The writer didn’t irk from putting things exactly as he must have thought them. Moreover, the use of similes was very well thought out and added to the very aesthetic feel of the whole article. I was pleasantly surprised that he even dared to use ellipses, which I’ve always been told to be a big no-no.

Another thing that struck me was use of a central theme: Manny’s “strange”. It allowed the writer to state things that may raise a few eyebrows, but successfully pass them off as the uniqueness–the strange–of the “biggest little man in the world”.

Out of the three other articles, I like this one best. Even though it may have been a difficult read, it was the most enjoyable. I wouldn’t change a thing about it. It was honest and to the point and didn’t pull any punches—luv it!

Leave a Reply

