Disney/Pixar STILL GOT ITS MAGIC!

I watch a lot of movies. Mostly Hollywood blockbusters, but I watch a lot of them all the same.

For that reason, I can confidently say that movies like Toy Story 3 does not come very often.

The story, as the title implies, is the third installment (as I am assuming they’re going to make a sequel) in the Toy Story series of movies, but this time around, there are no insane would-be terrorist (implying the person likes to blow things up) neighbor or a Woody-be (a pun on “would be”) thief /obese-premature-male-pattern-baldness-guy-who-steals-toys-from-kids-and-sells-them-to-Japanese-collectors person, only the fact that Andy is all grown up is about to move on to College and for toys, College = Death, or at least they view it as such.

Andy: Before and After

The plot thickens when Andy decides to store up all his other toys (even BUZZ LIGHTYEAR!!) with the exception of Woody. The scene was really heavy for a “kids movie”, although I guess the fact that Andy’s all grown up has given the writers and directors the mandate to carry things to a whole new emotional level. I couldn’t help but reminisce about my old toys and what would they have felt when I had to leave them behind when we moved from Davao to Manila. Suffice to say, the scene was heartbreaking.

After a series of events, all the toys (including Woody) were mistakenly donated to a certain daycare facility named Sunnyside. Don’t be fooled by its name, it’s anything but SUNNY! (well, anything but happy…) Sunnyside, was in fact a totalitarian system, ruled by a pink, cuddly bear named Lots’o’Huggin’ Bear (Lot’so for short). And oh boy, are the young’uns who’ll be watching this will soon learn that pink and cuddly in the outside may not translate to pink and cuddly in the inside. Not everything is what it seems.

Inside Sunnyside (mind the pun :D) Andy’s toys learn the reason why I do NOT EVER want to have TODDLERS! >_< The scene was… was… terrifying. There was a phrase Buzz said here that struck me as something we’ve basically lost in western society, which is “age appropriate”. Buzz said it while complaining to Lot’so after their first playtime in the Caterpillar Room (AKA, Toy Holocaust) and it made me think that kids today are really out of control. I had the privilege of having great parents and great childhood memories which I would cherish the rest of my life, but I find kids these days are exposed to issues that are not “age appropriate”.

I see 10 year old kids buying GTAIV or Assassin Creed 2 (which are quite gory) in gamestores in various places, even though their clearly labeled as NC-17! Another incident was when I watched this sexually charged play in UP (for a requirement, of course) and although it was CLEARLY (there were depiction of dry-humping and masturbation, etc) not-for kids, there were people who brought in KIDS that, judging from their appearance and height, were not even 10 years old! Filipino entertainment shows are filled with lewd jokes that are made in such bad tastes that I wonder why they’re even allowed to air. So much for laws in society or “age appropriateness”. The Philippines claim to be a “Christian Nation”, but I say we’re not even close. Muslim nations are more “righteous” by far when it comes to these kind of things. At least there (well… in some of them at least), they really enforce what they say their “ideals” are.

The horror... the horror...

In any case, enough about my political views. This post was supposed to be about the movie!

Well, one of the highlights of the film is, as I have lovingly dubbed, “the meeting”. When the scene when Ken first meets Barbie showed, the whole theatre was full of giggles… from the girls and, believe it or not, the guys as well. I even saw some “old people” (I define “old” as aged 55+ or if you look just plain old [and yes, I’m a judgmental person]) having a nice chuckle. I may be a fool about this but, I want to have the same kind of scenario happen to me ONCE in my life. I want to be able to tell people that I had “THE MEETING”. Fated. Destined. The One. My Other half. My True Loves Kiss. Made for each other. What can I say, I am a hopeless romantic–the real kind.

Made for each other...

If you haven’t seen the movie yet, go see it. Also, don’t support crime, go see it in a cinema. It’s worth it. It’s a Disney/Pixar: It’s MAGIC!

Leave a Reply

